Skip to content

My Summer Zucchini Bread

September 26, 2009

My Public Garden

My Public Garden

The summer season has officially come to a close but the thermometer still says it’s summer here in Boston.  Maybe it’s because we got a late start to our summer.  The entire month of June was one messy rainstorm after another.  But once July came around things began to happen in my garden.  I took advantage of all the fresh produce at my disposal, even sneaking into other gardens to sample their treasures.  Shhh! Don’t tell!

One of the most abundant veggies was zucchini. So much zucchini I didn’t want any of it to go to waste so I made all sorts of scrumptious dishes with it but my most requested culinary creation was my zucchini bread.  I eventually started baking two and three loaves at a time so there was plenty to go around.  I found the basic recipe in one of my many cookbooks but I put my own spin on it and it quickly became one of my most requested baked goods.  The recipe is very simple but very delicious and what you get is a beautiful brown bread that is moist and tender.  I promise you there won’t be a crumb left of my Summer Zucchini Bread!


The toasted walnuts and chocolate chips are optional but you have to agree anything made with nuts and chocolate is that much better.  I suggest making three batches of the bread batter: one without nuts & chocolate, one with just nuts & one with both.  This way you please everyone’s tastes and you’ll be a big hit!

Make this bread for your family, make it to say thank you to someone who helped you out in some way, make it and bring it to work and earn a few extra brownie points, or make several mini loaves and freeze them for the holidays!


Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup of unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 1/4 cup of vegetable oil
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups A/P flour
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of nutmeg (fresh grated is best)
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup finely shredded zucchini (squeezed & drained of all water)
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnut pieces (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)

Start by preheating your oven to 350 degrees.  This recipe makes about 6 cups of batter so it works really well in an 8×4 loaf pan.  Make sure you grease and flour the pan.  Sift all of your dry ingredients together.  This is a very important step as it makes the bread light.  Next cream the butter, sugar and oil until the mixture is smooth and fluffy. Add the egg, vanilla and sour cream to this mixture and combine until blended.  The original recipe says you can use a mixer to combine the wet and dry I prefer to do it by hand.  I fold the dry mixture into the wet about 1/2 cup at a time.  Finally add the grated zucchini, walnuts, chocolate chips and lemon zest to the batter.  Pour this into your prepared pan and bake for about 50 minutes or until a cake tester comes out clean.  You’re going to want to dive into your bread right away but it’s best to let it sit and cool for about 10 minutes, then have at it!

Zucchini Bread

Zucchini Bread

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Carla permalink
    September 26, 2009 1:06 AM

    I love it!!

  2. Amy D permalink
    September 26, 2009 3:29 AM

    Great start! I have been baking alot for the past couple of years and it’s starting to show….muffin top…lol :) Anyways, I love it and I’ll def be reading your site!

  3. September 26, 2009 11:22 AM

    Welcome to the wide world of Boston food writing. I’m more cook than baker so I use up things like Zucchini with big stew messes like rattatoui.

    Have you ever served it on grilled bread like a bruchetta? I saw that idea on a food blog yesterday.

    • September 26, 2009 2:22 PM

      Thanks! I’m very excited to be able to share all my food experiences with the the masses. I’ve never served zucchini grilled on bread but it sounds delicious. Do you have a recipe for it?

  4. September 28, 2009 7:19 AM

    I love the combo of spices in your zucchini bread! Thanks for sharing:)

  5. October 1, 2009 7:49 AM

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, :)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

  6. Carla permalink
    October 18, 2009 11:00 PM

    YUMMOOO!

Leave a Reply

