Skip to content

The Big Day is Approaching

October 16, 2009

My famous Carrot Cake

My famous Carrot Cake

On Thursday night, October 22nd, I will make my baking debut in the Boston culinary world as one of the caterers for Heart of The Hub, a fund raiser for Discover Roxbury!  This is one of the most exciting times of my life.  I am following my dream, I’m making it happen.  Could this be really happening?  Well obviously it is because on Thursday evening I have to deliver three beautiful cakes, possibly four if I don’t collapse, to the 3rd floor ballroom of the Hibernian Hall.

My friend Derek Lumpkins, program and marketing manager for Discover Roxbury, asked me several months ago if I would be willing to donate some of my sweet treats for the fundraiser.  At first I didn’t know what to say because I’m not a professionally trained baker but I thought this would be such an amazing opportunity to help a friend and the community but also to introduce myself professionally to Boston as a cook and baker.   I agreed to do it and I’ve been planning for it ever since.  For the last 3 months I played with countless recipes and ideas and flavors to come up with three unique but delicious cakes.  Showstoppers.  But I had a lot of doubt about my ability to create 3 cakes that would blow everyone away.  I’m not a trained baker, I’ve never worked in a bakery or sold a slice of cake.  And one day something in me said who the hell cares!  And that released in me a desire to dive into the project head first and abandon any inhibitions or preoccupations I had.  I knew I would not be able to accomplish this task with any fear or trepidation.

The next step was to narrow down my ideas to 3 great but manageable cakes.  The first cake I decided to make is my father’s delicious carrot cake from when he was a baker at Victoria’s Diner in Roxbury.  I played with the recipe a little and made it my own.  The cream cheese frosting is out of this world, sweet and cheesy.  I always have to make extra frosting for mom because she likes to slather it all over her slice of cake.  I keep debating whether I want to post the recipe on here on not.  I’m not sure if I’m ready to share the family recipe with the world yet.

Next I wanted a cake that used an authentic New England fall ingredient: apples.  I found a wonderful recipe for an Apple Spice Cake covered in a velvety smooth butter cream frosting and decorated with gilded marzipan pumpkins and acorns.  I have a feeling this will be the showstopper.

And finally, since the Heart of the Hub fundraiser is only days before Halloween I wanted a cake that has the feeling of the holiday but still sophisticated enough for a fundraiser, and thus was born the Flaming Chocolate Devils Food Cake.  It’s a chocolate devils food cake covered in a wonderfully rich chocolate frosting and decorated with red tuile cookies made to look like flames!

Are you drooling yet?  Wait until you see the pictures!  I’ll be sure to take many shots of the cakes before they’re devoured by the crowd.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carla permalink
    October 18, 2009 10:45 PM

    Love the story….I can’t wait to see teh cakes…they sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

