Skip to content

Mahvelous Marzipan!

October 19, 2009

Marzipan Pumpkins

Marzipan Pumpkins

So this afternoon I made my first marzipan decoration: Marzipan Pumpkins!  They and some leaves & acorns will be the centerpiece for my apple spice cake.  I am an amateur baker so this is the first time I am working with marzipan.  It’s an amazing medium!  Before I started on this project I learned that the only limit you have with marzipan is your imagination.  I saw creations as simple as baby carrots and elaborate as these life size marzipan sculptures featured in a Marzipan museum in Holland.  The sculptures represent those who played a major part in the history of marzipan, from Magellan to Father Christmas.

Life Size Marzipan Sculptures In Holland

Life Size Marzipan Sculptures In Holland

I’m not quite to that level yet but I think my skills are coming along quite nicely.  The most important part of working with marzipan I feel is to make sure that you set your workspace with all your tools before you begin to create.  It just makes the whole process so much easier.  When I work on a project that requires all sorts of different tools and gadgets I prefer to have all the necessary accoutrement at arms length.  In this case: cornstarch or confectioners sugar, various size brushes, toothpicks, vegetable oil, damp towels, gel colorings and of course the marzipan.

After I set up my work station I jumped right in.  I didn’t tint the pumpkins because I’m painting them with pearl luster dust!

First Pumpkin

The First Pumpkin

Pumpkin Patch

Pumpkin Patch

To create these little babies I rolled marzipan in spheres and then used a toothpick dipped in vegetable oil to create the lines on the pumpkin.  I had to keep reminding myself that pumpkins are not perfect so I didn’t obsess to much with how straight the lines were.  I then took little pieces of marzipan and rolled them to create stems.

Pumpkins with Stems

Pumpkins with Stems

Next I worked on the leaves.  I used a leaf shaped cookie cutter to create the marzipan leaves.  It’s best to roll out your marzipan about 1/8 inch thick to give you a nice pliable leaf.  I used the same toothpick technique as I did with the pumpkins to add veins to the leaves.

Leaf-Shaped Cookie Cutter

Leaf-Shaped Cookie Cutter

Pretty Leaves

Pretty Leaves

So far so good…then came the dreaded acorns.  They look very simple but they are damn hard to make, at least for this beginner.  But after several trials I started to get it right.  Right enough for my purposes.  I figure the pearl luster dust will help mask some of the imperfections, but again nothing in nature is perfect.  I’m hoping this is true. But you can’t succeed without failing first!  I got some cute ones though.

All together I worked for about 5 hours to create 12 pumpkins, 12 acorns and 15 leaves! Phew! Next step is to paint them all with pearl luster dust then assemble them all on top and around my cake!  I can’t wait to put it all together!  I’ll be sure to share pictures with you all!

Acorn

Acorn

Lots of Acorns

Lots of Acorns

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carla permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:01 AM

    impressive…love the pumpkns they look awesome! Love it!

Leave a Reply

