Skip to content

A ‘Sublime’ Experience: S. Florida Food Part 1

November 23, 2009

Sadly my vacation to South Florida has come to an end but not without checking out some great food spots! My favorite place is aptly named, ‘Sublime.’  I previewed it for you in my last blog entry with a couple of pictures.  I had dinner there on the suggestion of my friend Brittany who has been a vegan for the past 8 years! Congrats Brit!  First of all it’s a beautiful space, great for a romantic dinner or special event like a birthday party.  Pam Anderson had her 40th birthday celebration there and even the likes of Paul McCartney, Alec Baldwin and Alicia Silverstone stop by when they’re in town.

 

Sublime Restaurant and Bar

 

I’ve always enjoyed vegetarian and vegan fare but this topped the cake! OMG! is the best way to describe my experience at Sublime.  As I read the menu my mouth began to water at all the yummy choices I was given.

Sublime Menu

The food was tasty, creative and wonderfully presented. I liked the fact that Sublime has a high-end gourmet restaurant feel without the attitude.  The owner, Nanci Alexander, was so very gracious and even stopped by our table to say hello.

When you sit down instead of bread they give you a plate of Pesto Polenta Triangles.

Pesto Polenta Triangles

For my appetizer I ordered the bowl of Organic Edamame which are roasted & dressed with covered with sesame seeds & cracked black pepper.  It turned out to be a large portion so I shared with my friends and in 5 minutes they were gone!

Organic Edamame

For our entrees I ordered the Spinach & Eggplant Ravioli.  It is stuffed with spinach, eggplant, tofu and dressed in a garlic confit and slow roasted tomato sauce then topped with a chiffonade of fresh basil.  The ravioli were so tender and delicious.  The sauce was full of great flavors and didn’t overwhelm the delicate flavor of the ravioli.  A perfect combination.

Spinach & Eggplant Raviolis

My friend Melissa and I had the raviolis.  Brittany and Aubrey had the Mac ‘n Cheese.  The mac is comprised of tender elbow macaroni and the cheese is a ‘cheddar’ bechamel with dijon crumbles.  It comes to the table in a bowl surrounded by a seasonal veggie, in this case broccoli spears.  Now this is a presentation!

 

Mac 'n Cheese

The desert course was equally impressive.  The menu has several mouthwatering choices and we wanted to try it all so we decided to get the sampler platter.  I was expecting a little sample of each dessert, NO! It was a full portion of each dessert: Coconut Cake with an almond tuile cookie, Chocolate Nirvana cake, The Sublime Sundae (vanilla soy ice cream, chocolate shell, soy whip & peanuts), Key Lime Cheesecake, and Apple Crumb pie a la mode.

 

Sublime Dessert Platter

I didn’t realize until I got home that the tuile cookie is hiding the Coconut Cake. Here’s what it looks like with several bites taken out of it.

 

Coconut Cake

Coconut Cake

 

Me with Melissa and Brittany

 

Aubrey and I

We had such a great night at Sublime! I wish I could go everyday!!! Of course I can’t but I will go any time I travel to South Florida.  Sublime is a great example of the love of food because with every bite you can taste the passion that went into making your meal.  Thank you Brittney, Melissa and Aubrey for a wonderful evening!

 

 

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

