Skip to content

Icing Fit For A Queen!

December 20, 2009

Want those Christmas cookies to have that professional look to them?  Then you need to use Royal Icing, not just any old frosting.  Royal icing gives your cookies that smooth look and beautiful sheen you see on those over priced goodies you see in stores this time of year.  The trick to royal icing is you have to work quickly with it because it starts to set up quickly.  I keep any icing that I’m not using covered with plastic wrap so it doesn’t form a crust on the top.  That’s why I like to work with small batches of icing at the time.  To color your icing I recommend a gel paste color because it’s thicker than regular food coloring and won’t thin down your icing.  Check out Wilton.com for a great selection of icing colors and other baking tools and supplies.  I don’t receive any compensation from Wilton, I just think they are a great source for all my baking needs.

Here’s the recipe I use for Royal Icing:

  • 2 large egg whites
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 3 cups confectioners sugar, sifted

In the bowl of your mixer beat the egg whites and lemon juice using the whisk attachment, about 2 minutes.  Then slowly add the sugar until you get a nice, smooth consistency.  This makes about 3 cups of royal icing.

If you are allergic to eggs or weary about using raw egg whites then you can substitute them with meringue powder.  If you decide to go the meringue powder route, use this recipe instead:

  • 4 cups confectioners sugar, sifted
  • 3 tbsp meringue powder
  • 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (or any extract you like)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup warm water

In the bowl of your mixer beat the meringue powder and confectioners sugar until well combined.  Add the water & extract and beat until it forms stiff peaks (about 6-8 minutes).  You may need to add more sugar or water to get the right consistency for your project.

Whichever recipe you use, you can be sure you will have the best looking cookies at your cookie swap party!  My last tip for you is to be sure to let your iced cookies set up overnight, preferably in a cool place.  I live in a cold climate so I just set my cookies in my enclosed porch.  It’s nice and cold in there so my cookies set up really well overnight.  But if you live in a warm climate just put your cookies in the fridge overnight.  Have fun and be creative!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pask permalink
    December 22, 2009 2:26 PM

    They’re so shiny!! :)

    • January 4, 2010 3:06 PM

      I love that about them. It’s the egg whites that give the finished product that beautiful sheen.

  2. Mary Lou permalink
    February 15, 2010 6:21 PM

    Eduardo…do you ever experience the icing drying matte instead of shiny? If so, do you have any ideas why it would do that? Thanks for your input. I have spent many a holiday disappointed in the way my cookies dry, but just as many happy with their appearance.

    • February 21, 2010 2:38 PM

      I honestly have never had that problem with my icing. My only suggestion would be to make sure you beat the egg whites until they are nice and fluffy.

Leave a Reply

